Lifting NSV

Options
Set a PR this morning which mainly because I've never done deadlifts much before. But finally was able to deadlift my body weight at 225. Feels good to have two 45 pound weights on each side when just a couple months ago it was embarrassing to me to have a guy of my size with under 100 lbs on the bar. Strength is definitely going up thanks to stronglifts 5x5. Next goal is 300 lbs hopefully I wont have too hard a time getting there.

Replies

• Cathy7794
    Cathy7794 Posts: 223 Member
    Options
    Congratulations! :drinker: Isn't that an awesome feeling?! I'm doing stronglifts also and finally reached body weight on squats a couple weeks ago. Now I'm up to 20 pounds over my body weight and it makes me feel like I can do anything!! :glasses:
  • RunDoozer
    RunDoozer Posts: 1,699 Member
    Options
    Yeah I'm really happy. Taking a lot of time to get Up to body weight on the other exercises since I'm so heavy
  • Gallowmere1984
    Gallowmere1984 Posts: 6,626 Member
    Options
    Congratulations! I remember the first time I pulled 225. I probably looked like a total tool when I did a mini-happy dance after setting the bar down.
  • mmapags
    mmapags Posts: 8,934 Member
    Options
    Nice going man! It's always a major moment when you first hoist your body weight. Good work! Now get cracking on 1.25x! lol
  • SuperCork
    SuperCork Posts: 192 Member
    Options
    Awesome story! I can't wait to get back in the gym and see where my deadlifts are: previously, DL'd 5lbs under my body weight, but that was about 20lbs ago. Can't relate about comparing myself to other gymgoers because don't see many females DLing (plus, I'm fairly tall, so hard to compare myself to short chicks and certainly not concerned with what dudes doing).

Thanks for the inspiration and I wish you many more NSVs!
  • Gallowmere1984
    Options