ATTENTION PERSONAL TRAINERS. THIS IS FOR YOU!!

Options
I'm halfway through my certification and am so pumped about it. I would love to know what a day in the life of a personal trainer looks like. I don't know anyone personally who is a trainer to pull from their experience. Let me know if you love it, hate it, anything that may be helpful after I get my cert. I'm planning on applying at gyms, but would love to hear from any who may work independently about anything you think may be helpful for me.

Replies

• babyblake11
    babyblake11 Posts: 1,107 Member
    Options
    Im currently studying too. I have had a few clients before when i worked at my old gym and my boss was one of my best friends :)
    IMO theres no 'typical' day in the life, you have different people, different goals and different things you need to work with.
    Good luck =]
  • KimberlyDCZ
    KimberlyDCZ Posts: 525 Member
    Options
    I'm planning to get the ACE materials in a few weeks and hopefully testing in July. I hope we get some replies!
  • crazy4lulu
    crazy4lulu Posts: 822 Member
    Options
    i am a certified personal trainer. i LOVE my job. I make my own schedule. im considered full time although i only work 25 hours a week. the pay is awesome with the potential to make more the longer you keep your clients. I do not consider it a good day until at least one if the following has happened. #1 im called a *****....#2 my client says they hate me...or #3 they say thank you for a great workout. Getting the finger in the air and a go to "go to hell" along with a see ya same time next week just about brings a tear to my eye!!! Just knowing that i am helping others achieve their goals and make their lives better... is reason enough for me to get out of bed each morning!!!
  • rcolours7
    Options
    not a trainer - but having worked w/trainers in classes @ gyms ...

applying to gyms is probably the best place to start to get some sort of client base going for referrals.