My legs are getting BIGGER?!

bubbledelicious
bubbledelicious Posts: 6 Member
edited September 20 in Fitness and Exercise
Hi, sorry if this has been mentioned before but I joined MFP just over a week ago and I have been going to the gym everyday along with swimming and workout classes. I am not going over my calorie allowance but my thighs have definitely got bigger! I was quite happy with them before and I thought that by doing cardio and lifting weights (low weight high rep) would tone my legs up nicely. I am mortified as when I put my skinny jeans on now I feel like a sausage ready to burst out of it's skin :/ Has anybody got any ideas where I'm going wrong or how to make my legs nice and toned without bulking them up??

Replies

• nicolina823
    nicolina823 Posts: 450 Member
    Your muscles are retaining water. Thats all.
  • arewethereyet
    arewethereyet Posts: 18,702 Member
    I am no expert, can only speak from experience.

When I started lifting weights I went up in inches on my legs. I was told it is because the micro tears in the muscle surround by water..........think of a bruise or a burn with the bubble.......our bodies way to heal and restore the area.

I was none to happy with the weigh gain and inches...........but honey, my legs looked HOT.

If you want to just tone, then you use lower weights for longer reps. Can you work with a trainer for a short time? I tell ya, I swear by them.
  • erickirb
    erickirb Posts: 12,294 Member
    Your muscles are retaining water. Thats all.

I second this. When beginning or increasing intensity in workouts you muscles store water to help repair, once you get use to the exercise the water should dissipate.
  • spob
    spob Posts: 206