calories burnt at work

Options
is there a way to work out how many calories you could burn whilst at work? i'm on the go all day long, and just wondered how much i'm burning during the day, i'd guess there is no hard and fast way of measuring it, as we all do different types of work etc but thought there may be a rough guide to get some idea

Replies

• michelangelofan
    Options
    I work in retail where I walk and have to go up and down ladders a lot, so I generally put in an hour of light walking - that way, even if I do burn a few more calories, it keeps me from overeating
  • GauchoMark
    GauchoMark Posts: 1,804 Member
    Options
    fitbit is perfect for this.
  • blondie0922
    blondie0922 Posts: 25 Member
    Options
    I agree with GauchoMark. I love my Fitbit!
  • Hellbent_Heidi
    Hellbent_Heidi Posts: 3,669 Member
    Options
    When you set up your profile, you have the option to choose sedentary, lightly active, or active as your 'lifestyle", so it wouldn't be advisable to count them with the intentions of eating back calories, but as far as calculating them for your own interest, wearing a Fitbit or other HRM would probably be the best way.
  • MyM0wM0w
    MyM0wM0w Posts: 2,008 Member
    Options
    HRM?
  • tyresank
    tyresank Posts: 174 Member
    Options
    I used a FitBit for a long time but a few month ago went to the Polar FT7 HRM. I have a low resting heart rate and the FitBit was WAY over calculating my calories burned. I wore my HRM for 24 hrs and that gave me an idea of my true burn for an average day. DARN that low heart rate!! I am very lucky that my HR is 45 whilst at work due to sedentary computer work, and maybe 60-65 when I get up to walk around a bit during the day. This is why I attempt to workout 1-1.5 hrs each morning as that is the bulk of my activity for the day, as I might do a short brisk walk in the evening but typically not more than 20-30 mins.
  • CoulsdonEagle
    Options
    HRM?
    Heart Rate Monitor