If 3,500 calories = 1 Pound then WHAT am I doing wrong?

Options
In the past 5 days I've had a 4,438 deficit. But I gained a 1.2 pounds. What?!? I know my calculations are pretty spot on because I have a Body Media Armband and count every single thing I put in my mouth.

I excercise (treadmill, water aerobics, and pilates) almost daily and, although I haven't completely given up soda, I otherwise make good choices. I monitor carbs, fat, and sodium. I drink ALOT of water. I take fiber supplements...

I think my body is just stuck at this weight (with is not a healthy weight, I might add). Each time I gain weight I can always lose it really easy UNTIL I see this particular number on the scale. Does anybody have any suggestions? Words of encouragement? I determined not to give up this time. I just desperately need to move the scale past this number before I get discouraged...

Replies

• erinsueburns
    erinsueburns Posts: 865 Member
    Options
    Can't see your diary so it is hard to be specific. But, you say you are counting everything you eat, but are you WEIGHING it before you count it? 100 grams is always 100 grams, but a medium apple or banana could be anything.

Also, as a female, water weight can vary dramatically in a given month so a week isn't necessarily a good tracking period.
  • Acg67
    Acg67 Posts: 12,142 Member
    Options
    water weight, underestimation of cals, underestimation of activity etc etc
  • ndj1979
    ndj1979 Posts: 29,136 Member
    Options
    did you calculate TDEE and deduct from there...

what kind of work out program are you doing?
  • bcattoes
    bcattoes Posts: 17,299 Member
    Options
    Also, as a female, water weight can vary dramatically in a given month so a week isn't necessarily a good tracking period.

this ^^ Water is likely the culprit if you are being so careful with your food and exercise. You can't always out drink your hormones. Keep at it and weigh again in a week.
  • jsherrill22