lets talk about insulin

Options
First, I'm hoping to get some significant input from people with either formal education in this area, or at the very least extensive reading on the topic, rather than people who know all about insulin because they read a couple of articles Health magazine, saw it on the Dr. Oz show, heard a nutritionist tell a co-worker's brother something, etc.

There seems to be a lot of concern on the boards about insulin... sometimes as strong as "OMG, I just ate a saltine cracker... tomorrow I'm going to wake up 100lbs heavier and diabetic! What do I do?" Other people downplay it completely, as if it were irrelevant in the bigger picture.

I'm by no means an expert on insulin, which is why I'm hoping more knowledgeable people will chime in. But since I'm posting this thread, I feel the need to stay something in order to get conversation going.

So...
Let's start with the most basic question... what is insulin's function in the body? What does it really do?

My understanding is that it's basically a signalling chemical. It tells you cells when to build tissue. The higher your insulin levels, the stronger that signal to build will be. It is also my understanding that insulin isn't specific to to fat or anything else... that it simply tells your cells to build tissue, and what types of tissue they build is dependent on a variety of factors.

True? Completely wrong? What say you?

Replies

• youngmomtaz
    youngmomtaz Posts: 1,075 Member
    Options
    bump
  • mmapags
    mmapags Posts: 8,934 Member
    Options
    Have you seen this info from Kreiger?
    http://weightology.net/weightologyweekly/?page_id=319
  • siblita
    siblita Posts: 39 Member
    Options
    It does at least 2 main things - (as science advances we may find more):