define "lifting heavy"

Options
Hi everyone! I am rather new to this, my second weigh in is tomorrow (marking 2 weeks since my major lifestyle change)!

Question about "lifting heavy". Many people say to do this and I have no idea what it means. Can someone please define heavy?

I have never done weight lifting before so I am totally clueless.

A few details about my journey so far so you have an idea:
--I began my diet changes 2 weeks ago tomorrow.

--A week ago today I got my gym membership and have gone every day with one break day.

--I started just on the elliptical, which I had used before so was familiar. I started with 20 min and now am up to 45 with a much harder resistance level and higher heart rate.

--Yesterday for the first time I tried some of the weight machines. They look very intimidating to me! But I did 6 of them, mostly arms/shoulders/chest/back/abs. Didn't do much with the legs because I knew I was about to hop on the elliptical.

--Today I feel incredibly sore! I didn't do many reps and not very much weight either. For the ones where you stick the pin in I did 35 and for the ones where you do weights on each side I put 10lbs on each side. Today my arms/shoulders/back are SO sore. Did to do TOO much weight? Is that how it's supposed to feel? How long recovery should I allow? No way am I going today. Should I do it again tomorrow?

Any advice is helpful. thanks :)

Replies

• neandermagnon
    neandermagnon Posts: 7,436 Member
    Options
    heavy means with enough weight that you can't do more than about 8-12 reps before you fail, i.e. can't do another rep at all.