Runners- ? TM vs. road

Options
If running on a treadmill is "easier" (less resistance, different mechanics, etc) then why do I consistently pace better on my outdoor runs than indoors, with the same perceived exertion? Anybody else notice this? My typical pace outdoors is currently about 12:00; on the treadmill about 13:30. (I'm about 6 months pregnant so all my "runs" have to be slow and easy, with walk breaks.) I'm guessing it is a mental thing, but what do you think?

Replies

• moustache_flavored_lube
    Options
    Running indoors at the same heart rate feels much harder to me. I hate it
  • bracertj
    bracertj Posts: 13 Member
    Options
    I'm no expert, but I wouldn't consider a t'mill easier, but as you stated it is different. It's a different foot strike and gate, which in turn recruits different muscles than a standard road running stride. I find myself getting more tired, faster on the t'mill, I attribute it to the less natural stride and different foot strike, (not to mention the boredom).
  • AmazonRDH
    AmazonRDH Posts: 203 Member
    Options
    i train on a treadmill too because i have a 3 year old asleep when i have time to run, can't exactly take off into the great outdoors. yep supposedly the motion of the treadmill does some of the work for you so it's "less work." i read something yesterday that said if you are training on a treadmill you need to double the distance of what you're training for, so if you're training for a 5K, you need to run 6 miles on the treadmill to get the same distance. GULP! personally i love my treadmill, i'm a very shy person and hate people looking at me (LOL!) but i do go out and do 5K's with my BFF. when i'm at home though, treadmill! :bigsmile:
  • vjohn04
    vjohn04 Posts: 2,276 Member
    Options
    I'm in the same boat. I run a 9 min mile on the road easy peasy--- then my TM runs are closer to 10 min miles, and I'm exerting the same.
  • dixiewhiskey
    dixiewhiskey Posts: 3,333 Member
    Options