My first 5K... a little scared

Options
shellma00
shellma00 Posts: 1,684 Member
I asked my almost 13 year old son if he would do a 5K Run/Walk with me. His response was "YOU are going to run a 5K??" with a huge smile on his face. My response was "it's a 5K Run/WALK, so I am sure I will be doing more walking than running". He said "yeah, I'm totally gonna beat you! I will do it with you." He is very competitive with everything, he likes to bet on anything he think he can win at. Which will just make this even more fun.

I have never done an official 5K Run before, only did a 5K walk when I was in a church Biggest Loser competition where we did it all together. We live in a rural community and there are not many 5K's around. So of course I am kind of excited and scared at the same time. This 5K is in 6 weeks and I know I will probably not be ready by then. I am so out of shape and I know running would probably kill me. LOL. I downloaded a C25K app on my phone and was hoping to get to use it, but it is so cold and snowy outside and I do not like to get out in the cold/snow/rain. The bright side is that it is supposed to start warming up by the end of the week.

So I guess what I am looking for is a little advice and encouragement, because I know that whenever I tell my husband that my son and I want to sign up, he will laugh too.

Replies

• aecole87
    aecole87 Posts: 26 Member
    Options
    You can do it! The biggest obstacle you will face is just getting over yourself and doing it! I still get nervous before I go for a run because I'm worried I'll have to quit before I run as much as I planned to. Running is really such a mind game. I usually start thinking I want to quit long before my body needs to. Just do it! Even if you have to walk some so what?? Use any doubt you encounter from others to fuel you. It will make it that much better when you achieve your goal!