Looking for advice to fight cravings and control portions

Options
I am new to myfitnesspal and I would like to know what people do to fight cravings and control portions. I exercise regularly and have been able to maintain a reasonable weight but I want to start eating better in order to trim down. I have a sweet tooth and like to snack when I get bored during the long Wisconsin winters, so I am defeating the gains I make during my workouts. I look forward to your tips.

Replies

• jenlatham
    jenlatham Posts: 17 Member
    Options
    Try drinking water or tea. Dill pickles cut sweet cravings and are almost no cal.
  • mverburgt
    mverburgt Posts: 13 Member
    Options
    Thanks. I have been trying to drink more water now versus diet soda.
  • twinkiemon
    twinkiemon Posts: 216 Member
    Options
    My big craving is chocolate and so I have a little chocolate - like a hershey kiss (30 cal) a day to curb this. It works pretty much - there are some days that I might need two, but just knowing that I get that one is enough.
  • mindyt23
    mindyt23 Posts: 28 Member
    Options
    To fight cravings you almost need to withdrawl from them for a couple days, it's tough but I find if I start the morning out with sugar, I want it the rest of the day, same with chips! Get your sugars from fruit for a couple days, then I give myself a "Me Day" like friday or saturday to eat what i want (within reason and moderation). But just knowing I get 'a day, helps me stay focused until then. A big bowl of crunchy veggies prepared for instant snacking helps too!! Good Luck!
  • drugrug
    drugrug Posts: 50
    Options
    Eat fruit for that sweet tooth!
  • jennagoogles13
    Options