Food scales...are they worth using??

Options
I just started MFP and i was thrilled to have lost 2 lbs in just my first week by dieting and exercising. I count calories by reading food labels, but i can't help but wonder if buying a food scale would help me out even more? does weighing your food really help significantly over eating a decent healthy portion?

If anyone has any success or negative stories using a food scale please share!!

Replies

• DwightJenkins
    DwightJenkins Posts: 58 Member
    Options
    We bought a Paula Dean kitchen scale at Walmart for about $13 and use it just about every meal. It's very easy to go 'just a little' over on a serving, and over time it really matters. I don't think it's a total necessity, but it is helpful and takes the guess work out of portion control.
  • donnaleecam
    Options
    I have been using one-not daily-for a few months. I lost 30 pounds 7 years ago without one, but I do like it. It is sometimes hard to eyeball small, medium, etc. Since I count calories, it helps me. But, I did fine without one, also. Good luck!
  • Wolfena
    Wolfena Posts: 1,570 Member
    Options
    Yes, they are most definitely worth using.
  • BbNuke
    BbNuke Posts: 82 Member
    Options
    I use mine every day. It's just easier than guessing at amounts, plus it trains your eye to learn what a healthy portion looks like. Like Dwight said - all those little extra dabs & bites can add up very quickly.
  • HChic
    HChic Posts: 2
    Options
    do you know a good food scale that i not that expensive yet accurate?
  • cynditoney
    cynditoney Posts: 90
    Options
    I weigh everything. It helps me know exactly what I am consuming. I recommend using a scale, guess-timating can sometimes lead to eating extra calories without even knowing it.:flowerforyou:
  • resptech97
    resptech97 Posts: 147
    Options
    YES! They are very inexpensive and will help you out with measuring the portions of your food!
  • hiddensecant