Need TDEE Help, so confused!

Options
Hi, I am new to MFP and I am a shortie. :) I am 4'11 and 1/2" LOL, I weigh 165 right now and my goal weight is 115. I am 37 years old and need some help figuring out this BMR, TDEE stuff. I am so confused. I am not sure how much to eat/exercise, and how long it will take to get down to my goal weight? Help. :)

Replies

• jacksonpt
    jacksonpt Posts: 10,413 Member
    Options
    BMR - the amount of energy (cals) needed by your body to do the most basic functions - breathe, pump blood, etc. Eating below this for any significant length of time generally has negative side effects (body composition, general nutrition, hormones, energy levels, etc)

TDEE - the amount of energy (cals) needed by your body to do everything you ask of it throughout the day, from breathing and pumping blood to running errands and doing house work to exercise. Eat above this to gain weight, eat below it to lose weight.

Generally to lose weight you'll want to eat between those 2 numbers. There are lots of calculators on the web to help you get a number for each. How long it takes to lose the weight will depend on how much weight you have to lose, how aggressively you try to lose it, and how dedicated you are to the plan.
  • hhedrick2000
    hhedrick2000 Posts: 5 Member
    Options
    When I exercise, do I add eat more to make up for the calories I have burned, or is that figured into the TDEE? I don't want to eat too much, but I don't want to not eat enough either. I went online an calculated my BMR and TDEE. My BMR = 1339, TDEE = 2022. If I eat 1400 calories daily, I am calcuating that I would lose just over 1 pound per week. When I add exercises into MFP, it adds more calories for me to eat, thus my confusion.
  • ramonafrincu
    ramonafrincu Posts: 160 Member
    Options
    You said TDEE is 2022. What type of activity? Also to lose weight you need to eat 15 or 20% bellow that number so around 1600-1700 cals. not 1400.
  • erickirb