Knees not the best

Options
So I'm going into week 10 of my 10k training clinic and I think it's starting to catch up on me. Now before you wonder about my shoes, I have been wearing the Nike frees for about 3 years now, they're light weight and with my bunions the stictching doesn't rub in the wrong spot. I also grew up doing highland dancing since the age of 3 so my feet and legs have always been super strong.

But this is the first time I've trainned for a 10k. 3 years ago I ran a few 10ks and 5ks in my community and I've always been out there running by myself but haven't training like this ever. I'm running 3 times a week with the group, our time and distance has increased. We did 73 minutes yesterday and the longer I run, the more my knees feel it.

I pushed myself hard this week, doing my 3 runs with my group and 1 extra run with my bf and a gym day when i lifted weights and did leg exercises. I felt my knees somewhat struggling when i was doing squats with weights but i pushed through it.

Icing seems to have helped a bit this week, tiger bomb too and i'm avoiding wearing heels at work this week but i'm starting to think that maybe i should cut my intervals down. Rather than running 40 mins, 1min break and 20 mins, i should do shorter intervals for the time being. We're running on cement each week too.

I'm just looking for some friendly advice for getting my knees stronger. I worry too that my weight - I'm about 25 pounds overweight is putting a lot of pressure on my knees.

Replies

• ChrisLindsay9
    ChrisLindsay9 Posts: 837 Member
    Options
    I felt my knees somewhat struggling when i was doing squats with weights but i pushed through it.