(Diabetic) *kitten* Up in the Garden

Options
Anyone out there trying to lose weight who is also a backyard gardener? I'm Tracy. I'm trying to lose weight and also start a garden. I don't know why I associate these two things together, but I do. Anyway, I've got a small plot of land for a vegetable garden and will be starting it this weekend. Any tips would be most appreciated. Also, anyone out there who is trying to lose weight, start a garden, and who is also a diabetic? Yeah, we need to talk.

Replies

• supplemama
    supplemama Posts: 1,956 Member
    Options
    Not a diabetic but I'm an avid gardener! What are you planting this year?
  • WendySPWarren
    WendySPWarren Posts: 63 Member
    Options
    I love gardening, but there's not a whole lot I can do in my 4m x 2m paved courtyard. :p I am studying Botany at Uni though, so I guess that should count for something! :)
    My dad is a diabetic gardener who's trying to get fit. He would be the perfect person for you to be friends with, but I don't think he is on mfp. :(

As for gardening tips, fork out the extra money for a good fertiliser, it will pay off later. And make sure to keep your plants free of frost. Also, getting locally native plants is great- they tend to die less. :p And, as always, follow the care instructions when planting.
    What are you going to plant? :)
  • jabadahut
    jabadahut Posts: 16
    Options
    We cant plant here until after mothers day because we have been known to have frost that late into the spring. lost all my plants 2 years ago because of it.
  • AtwaterD
    AtwaterD Posts: 18
    Options
    Good luck! :)
  • Defren
    Defren Posts: 216 Member
    Options
    I'm not a gardener but I am a T2 diabetic :-)
  • SanteMulberry
    SanteMulberry Posts: 3,202 Member
    Options