Is a walkathon too soon for me in June?

Options
I'm just starting out. I have a bad back and knees. I'm 249 lbs right now but I want to do a run and fitwalk walkathon on June 5. I know its really soon and I'm out of shape. I do 2 miles at a very slow pace right now in the mall. My back hurts some after but my knees seem to be ok.

My husband thinks its a great idea. My mother tells me that I'm not fit enough. I want to try. If I come in the last person, I can accept that because I did it. I've always wanted to do one.

What do you think?

Replies

• rosebarnalice
    rosebarnalice Posts: 3,488 Member
    Options
    GO FOR IT!
  • lewcompton
    lewcompton Posts: 881 Member
    Options
    I'd go for it too!
  • VelociMama
    VelociMama Posts: 3,119 Member
    Options
    Having a goal will help push you to continue on days you don't want to do anything. Go for it. Walk it at the fastest pace you can safely manage.
  • Sweet_Gurl_Next_Door
    Sweet_Gurl_Next_Door Posts: 735 Member
    Options
    your mom is wrong. I did a 5 k walk and I started out at 250 pounds. I have done two of them.
  • jessykab74
    jessykab74 Posts: 167 Member
    Options
    I agree!!!!! Go for it! That is a GREAT goal to keep the motivation going!
  • mjculbertson4512
    mjculbertson4512 Posts: 157 Member
    Options
    go for it. One step at a time.
  • concordancia
    concordancia Posts: 5,320 Member
    Options
    How long is the walk?

If you are doing 2 miles regularly, 5k (3.1 miles) won't be too much of a stretch for you. You should keep working on picking up the pace of your two miles. You could even train for a 10k in two months. Anything longer than that and you might be pushing it too far.
  • wolfchild59
    wolfchild59 Posts: 2,608 Member
    Options