HELP! My doctor just told me I'm a DM Type 2 now!

Options
Hey all.
Weighing in at 300# for the last year now. I'm 6' tall so people tell me I carry it well. (Except for the pot belly, always being tired, and having absolutely no stamina anymore)

Went to the doctor last week and did a fasting glucose. Resulted as 129 with an A1C of 6.7. He said I was now a Type 2 Diabetic and put me on glucophage. I'm a dialysis nurse and most of my patients are diabetic. I am scared (and now highly motivated to lose weight).

But now after only 5 days I can feel the weakness creeping in to my resolve.
Are there any other newly (or experienced) diabetics out there?
What do you do? How do you do it? How do you stay motivated?

Need motivation, support, and others in this situation to climb out of this hole with me.
Please reply and/or friend me.

Replies

• husker_gal
    husker_gal Posts: 462 Member
    Options
    I'm not a diabetic but did want to offer a bit of encouragement! Hang in there! Your health and life depends on it! Keep focused and keep logging every bite of food that goes into your mouth! You can do this!! :smile:
  • Bretto
    Bretto Posts: 196 Member
    Options
    working as a dialysis nurse you definately get to see what WILL happen if you don't take care of yourself. Let that be your biggest motivator. Don't try and set huge goal. Make them small and attainable. Give yourself a reward for meeting those goals. Take it one day at a time. If you fall off the wagon on day, then get back on it the next. I know you can do this. Make sure you are eating often and enough calories for you body.

I just started a nutrition program put out by max muscle. It is really awesome and I have learned a lot about eating enough food, and of course the right foods, so that my body will store lean muscle instead of fat. You may want to look into it. I know several people who have done this program and have had huge success. They are everyday people just like you and me.