Confused & Discouraged...

Options
Hey Everybody! My name is JoAnna. I am a 36 year old, mama of 4, married for 20 yrs. I'm new to MFP. I'm 5'1 168 lbs. Trying to lose 40lbs. My first week of counting my calories & staying within 1200 a day with some moderate exercise, I lost 4 lbs!!!!! The following week I worked just as hard, stuck to my 1200 cals. and did Zumba every other day...... I lost nothing, in fact I gained 1 lb.!!! I don't understand why this happened! Since Sunday I have been so discouraged that I threw myself off track and have been feeling really crappy. Has this happened to anyone else? Please help.....

Replies

• Thinknight
    Thinknight Posts: 35 Member
    Options
    Your weight will always go up and down. Seriously the one thing to do is to stick with it. Keep going back and try hard to stay within the calories. Alot of the time you go up and down its due to Water. I have also noticed that no matter what when I have my period i put on 1kg, without fail....every time. And once the week is over....its gone. So that might have something to do with it too? I have been on this since Jan and im nearly at my target. I have slipped a few times but always try and do some exercise to make up for it.
    Feel free to add me as a friend, i have a few bad habits but all in all, im doing well :) just keep it up and it will work!
  • CharityGC
    CharityGC Posts: 499 Member
    Options
    Weight loss is not linear. You will fluctuate and have good weeks and bad weeks. If you get discouraged every time, it's just going to take that much longer to achieve your goal. Chin up and keep working hard. It will happen for you!
  • cmriverside
    cmriverside Posts: 34,081 Member
    Options
    Weight loss is not linear. You will fluctuate and have good weeks and bad weeks. If you get discouraged every time, it's just going to take that much longer to achieve your goal. Chin up and keep working hard. It will happen for you!