Skinny fat - eat at maintanance? What workouts to do?

Options
2»

Replies

• workingtwerking
    Options
    Hmmm. Do your thighs touch? You could just have wide hips. The calculators aren't terribly accurate. I'm by no means an expert but if I were you, I'd lose some fat while lifting and eating a lot of protein. You shouldn't have much to lose.
    Yeah, my thighs touch.
  • jlapey
    jlapey Posts: 1,850 Member
    Options
    Hmmm. Do your thighs touch? You could just have wide hips. The calculators aren't terribly accurate. I'm by no means an expert but if I were you, I'd lose some fat while lifting and eating a lot of protein. You shouldn't have much to lose.
    Yes, my thighs touch.

Why does that matter? It means nothing in terms of fitness. Some women, no matter how healthy or fit, will always have their thighs touch due to genetics.
  • magpie0
    magpie0 Posts: 194 Member
    Options
    I asked if her thighs touched because sometimes people can just have wide set, lean hips. I believe that the calculations just believe that there is simply a lot of fat there.
  • workingtwerking
    Options
    You need to eat a good amount of protein...start with about 100g a day, lift heavy weights. Can you get access to a gym? Most of the local gyms around here are only $10-$20/month...well worth it. Eat at maintenance or only about 100 calories below.

And...when I say heavy, I mean a program like Strong Lifts or New Rules of Lifting For Women to start.
    No, I don't have access to a gym, and i really can't afford it. Is there anything I can do at home?
  • sarahstrezo
    sarahstrezo Posts: 568 Member
    Options
    Yeah, my thighs touch.

Means nothing. My thighs touch and I'm about 20% body fat right now.
  • sarahstrezo
    sarahstrezo Posts: 568 Member
    Options