Paxil and Weight Loss

Options
Has anyone experienced a lot of difficulty losing weight while on an antidepressant like Paxil? I am just starting out my weight loss and don't want to get discouraged early. I have a visit with my doctor next week which I plan to get her feedback.

Thanks!

Replies

• crazyjkgirl
    crazyjkgirl Posts: 123 Member
    Options
    Actually both times in my life that I was placed on Prozac, I immediately began dropping weight. And I wasn't even watching my eating habits then!
  • kelika71
    kelika71 Posts: 778 Member
    Options
    I'm on Paxil and Depo Provera (really known to cause weight problems). I've not gained due to either one. I've had weight issues since puberty and long before these meds. I haven't had any problems losing weight because of any med I've been on.
  • asm325
    asm325 Posts: 10
    Options
    Glad to hear that. If I had to go off the Paxil now, my poor husband would suffer. :wink:
  • amarazi
    Options
    I've been on Paxil for more than a year and it never made me gain weight but it has hindered me in losing weight. A LOT of patience taking Paxil reported 20-60 lbs weight gain after the first year of taking it. I never saw the weight gain but I was busting my butt trying to lose weight, which never happened. I just stayed stagnant. I started doing research on it and found out about the weight gain issues. Also, Paxil can cause Metabolic Syndrome. I immediately got off the meds. Slow weaning process. I am now 2 weeks Paxil free but still going through HORRIBLE withdrawals from the meds. Something I wish the Dr. would have brought up when prescribing it to me. There is a really helpful site called quitpaxil.org that has tons of info. A lot of people got switched over to something else. I'm aiming for a more natural approach if I am still in need of anything once I get through the withdrawal symptoms.
  • Iceprincessk25
    Iceprincessk25 Posts: 1,888 Member
    Options