1,200 cals, workout, but no weightloss?

Options
hi, Im new to this starting a topic thing but ive been reading other peoples success stories and wondering where i am going wrong. I have been eating roughly 1,200 cals daily for the past few weeks and have started working out, but just cant seem to shift the pounds! I've started the 30 day squat challenge as well as skipping and jump squats as workouts. I weight about 10 stones and i am 5 ft 5. I am starting to lose hope in losing weight! id really appreciate any help.

Replies

• jen81uk
    jen81uk Posts: 177 Member
    Options
    I'm roughly 10 stones and 5'7'' and try to eat 1500 calories a day and workout. My weightloss is SLOW now as i'm on my last 10lbs so don't expect mega results. What's your target? Measure as I've lost inches recently too not lbs as started toning. I do 100-200 squats most days and hoping it'll slim my thighs.

Unfortunately you may be like me and see your body change but not the scale... which I can deal with.

Eat more too. I was miserable trying to eat 1200.
  • lobo_a_gogo
    lobo_a_gogo Posts: 265 Member
    Options
    eat more (look up "eat more to weigh less" or "in place of a road map" )
  • kirstyfairhead
    kirstyfairhead Posts: 220 Member
    Options
    I'm 4' 11" and currently at 139 so our stats are similar. My BMR (doing nothing) is around 1370 so if I eat 1200 every day without fail I can create a deficit of 170cals per day. This means that technically if my body does everything it should and I don't cheat on the food intake I would lose 1lb in 3weeks. At that rate 35lbs would take close to 2 years to get rid of.

Now you are that 1" taller and you are younger than me so your BMR will be higher, you also get some extra burn through just moving around but I think you probably get the point that trying to do this without exercise is really tough for us little people. Our bodies just don't need that much fuel in the first place so creating deficits is not easy.