Working out with an anxiety disorder ... and no space.

Options
Someone said this was a good, supportive place to go. I'm hoping that's true. So, here goes.

I'm a college student. I live in a very small dorm that's shared with three other girls, so space is at a premium. It is nearly impossible to actually work out in the dorm. I have tried, I have injured myself grievously, and I have stopped. It just isn't working there.

But the real kicker is the problem that keeps me from going elsewhere.

I have a major (social) anxiety disorder.

I cannot go to a gym without inducing a panic attack. I cannot go running in public without being so uncomfortable I immediately turn back. I fear judgement more than I fear death and that is not hyperbole. It does not matter if "no one is really judging me," I assume they are and it launches me right off the deep end. I cannot work out in front of people. I cannot make friends to work out with -- I can't make friends in general.

I have moved away from drug therapy for this problem (a major cause of the weight gain I'm trying to undo) and see a therapist regularly but haven't been able to move past this.

Is there even a point? Should I bother? Can't do it at home, can't do it outside. Am I kidding myself?

Please don't just say "get over it" or "no one is really even paying attention to you." The former is patently unhelpful in just about every context and the latter I know is logically true, but nothing is logical in the middle of a panic attack.

Replies

• paleopin
    paleopin Posts: 47
    Options