Should you lift weights if you are obese.

Options
2»

Replies

• bostonwolf
    bostonwolf Posts: 3,038 Member
    Options
    Yes you should lift weights however that has nothing to do with any weight loss plateau. Provided you are aren't putting yourself at any risk by lifting I would start sooner rather than later.

Listen to him, he knows of what he speaks.
  • nz_deevaa
    nz_deevaa Posts: 12,209 Member
    Options
    I was wondering the same thing, but more so because I'm still learning to eat properly and I know I'd have to change up my diet again for proper protein intake for lifting and I'm not sure I'm ready for that. I also know that if I'm gaining muscle and losing fat, I might not see the scale move as much and I'm still in that mindset where that number is still important to me (although I finally got my measurements).

I'd like to know how to gradually bring in heavy lifting and the appropriate diet to make it the most effective change.

You don't have to worry so much about your diet when you are first starting out. You'll know when you need to focus on it, because your lifting progress will stall, but you can start without a drastic diet overhaul.
  • ruig0k
    ruig0k Posts: 4 Member
    Options
    do lift weights! If you are new to it, some personal training sessions might be helpful. Congrats on your success so far!
  • JDBLY11
    JDBLY11 Posts: 577 Member
    Options
    How do you do free weights when you are so big and not injure yourself? I have an injury on my hips back and I don't know how to do regular free weights ( dumbbells and barbell) without hurting myself. I can't do squats, lunges or anything like that at my size with decent form. What kind of program could I actually do?
  • nz_deevaa
    Options