Busy students meal planning/scared of being hungry!

Options
Hi! I'm a graduate student who's busy with classes/research/libraries so on. I'm always on the go and my schedule is often unpredictable (last minute meetings)...

I noticed a lot of you guys plan out your meals in advance the day of! I have a few questions for you who know exactly what you'll be eating day of:
- If you are out and about, how do you turn down temptations?
- What are your favorite on-the-go snacks?
- (I'm guessing you guys pack your food)- what's the best way to pack your lunches to school/work?

One more thing: I am so afraid of being hungry! I don't have any chronic conditions but once my blood sugar drops, I get pale, I start feeling clammy, I get dizzy/nauseous, very irritated, the whole works. I tend to overeat or eat before going out so I don't reach this point, but I tend to overeat! Any advice?

Thank you everyone! Seeing all of you is such a motivation!!! :)

Replies

• Sadedoes
    Sadedoes Posts: 31 Member
    Options
    When I'm organized, I like to cook a meal base that I can vamp every night for dinner, adding a different seasoning, protein & starch. This is usually a bunch of prepared veggies (that takes the most of prep time). I also like to make stuff that I can freeze (chili, spaghetti sauce, lasagna, moussaka, curry...) that way I can have dinner on the table in about the 20 minutes it takes to cook some rice / potatoes / pasta or make a quick salad.

Lunches, I pack a sandwich (or two, depending on bread) with cheese / vegetarian spreads etc (I'm veggie). And also a container with veggies that are easy to eat: cherry tomatoes, cucumber sticks, carrot sticks, blanched cauliflower...

I carry two or three snacks along every day to university: piece of fruit (optional, some dairy to make it stick more) and some rye crackers. The only thing I buy is coffee, keep it simple (either black or very little milk, no sugar).
  • Shrinkmeslowly
    Shrinkmeslowly Posts: 42 Member