Veggie

Options
Hello,
I've been considering becoming a vegetarian for almost a year now and there have always been a number of things that have gotten in my way. However, I'm moving out in September to go to University, which makes things a lot easier (my parents are quite a big barrier in terms of becoming a vegetarian, they don't understand the concept and it always causes arguments) but I'm still a bit new to the whole idea and I could do with some more insight. I have tried a lot of Linda McCartney food products and I've yet to find something I dislike, which I guess is a good sign.
But my questions are :
I know you cannot have meat as a vegetarian, but is there anything else you're not meant to have?
Has anyone got any good ideas for both meals for one and meals to cook for friends, since I do want to be social in the uni. communal kitchen ?
What's the best thing to go for at restaurants ?
Anything else I should know ?

Replies

• AndreannaTamira
    Options
    If you are going for ovo-lacto vegetarian:

No meat (of course). This includes birds like chicken and also fish. - I know it is a bit weird to point this out, but I have heard of people who thought they where vegetarians and ate chicken.

Might wanna cut out gelatin, because it is made from bones. That means finding gummy bears etc. is harder, but not impossible (have a look at your local wholefoods store. There are also pure vegetarian shops around).

Find out which cheese has vegetarian rennet. If you live in the US this should be pretty easy, or so I have heard. If you live in Europe it's a bit harder to find. Non vegetarian rennet is made from something out of calves stomachs.

Might have to decide how you feel about shellac (used to coat certain food to make it nice, sleek and shiny) and certain food dyes, which are won from stuff that comes from bugs.

Decide how you feel about uncertainties of all of the above when going to restaurants.