5K and 10K races - run alone or with a partner?

Options
I am fairly new to running and have found it so addicting! My first 5K is coming up in July and I signed up for it with some of my cousins, but it's the Color Run, and not really a running race. I really want to start signing up for more 5K and 10K races, but I don't know of many people who would be open to running them with me.

For those of you who participate in them, do you typically run them alone, or with a partner?

Replies

• RGv2
    RGv2 Posts: 5,789 Member
    Options
    Always alone, but I run for time.
  • ellie78
    ellie78 Posts: 375
    Options
    Both, but I tend to do better on my own so if I'm in it for time I go alone.
  • freezerburn2012
    freezerburn2012 Posts: 273 Member
    Options
    Sometimes I sign up with a friend but then run at my own pace (I don't feel we have to run together). A lot of times, I sign up on my own.
  • veganlisa
    veganlisa Posts: 50 Member
    Options
    I do 5K's and with a partner- but one with the same pace as me. When she is not available, my daughter tags along. She's much faster than me but will slow down to my pace to keep me company (but she will push me at the end). It just depends if you prefer to run solo or with a buddy too!
  • skuehn84
    skuehn84 Posts: 14 Member
    Options
    I go with friends/family, but don't really run with someone. I need music to run so it would be hard to really run with someone. I just ran a 5k yesterday and my 9 year old son came with. He ran it in 30 minutes and I did it in 41 minutes. I wouldn't want to expect him to run slower to stay with me and there's no way I could have run quicker to keep up with him. That's the hard part if you want to run with someone unless they are at the same level as you.
  • jjlibunao
    jjlibunao Posts: 78
    Options