PCOS and weight loss support needed - any tips?

Options
Hi,

I'm fairly new to MFP and have PCOS. I got married last year and want to try and lose some weight before TTC.

Due to the PCOS the weight loss is slower, but at least I am now losing. I wondered if there were any PCOS success stories and if any ladies have any tips? I am trying to follow the low GI diet, but I've also heard that eating like a diabetic is very helpful.

Any support is much appreciated.

Replies

• ladyshands
    Options
    I found the diabetes life website last year and sometimes make recipes from there... saw it on tv... check it out!

www.dlife.com
  • AmberleyAngel
    AmberleyAngel Posts: 160 Member
    Options
    Ask your doctor about Metformin. It is a diabetes medication which is often prescribed pre-diabetes and when PCOS is present. I was put on Metformin when I was wanting to get pregnant but needed to lose weight, and I have PCOS. It might not be suitable in your case, but it might be worth asking. :)

Best wishes.
  • lotusspark
    Options
    I have it and have been succesful in losing 116#s with many more to go...you're welcome to friend me, I have an open food diary..it might be of help.:)
  • catalinabay
    catalinabay Posts: 5 Member
    Options
    I have PCOS (diagnosed in 2005) and have been fighting my weight gain with it for longer than that. Only recently has it gotten out of control, so now I am doing something about it.

I have tried all kinds of diets and so far, and so far the only one that seems to work for me is drastic calorie cutting (at least compared to my normal eating habits).

I was also diagnosed as diabetic, and eating to keep my blood sugar in check also helps (eating something every 2-3 hours).

Katie
  • AmandaNoel91
    Options