No Fat People Allowed

Options
This weekend I decided that I would audition for a play at my local theatre. I have done shows for years and years from small parts to major roles. I didn't really care which I got, I just wanted to be part of a show. I went both days, sing well, read well and danced--okay not so great, but it takes me feet a little time to learn steps.

Waiting for callbacks, I told myself any part would be great--any part. At least I thought so until I got a call from the director. She loved my voice, LOVED IT! But would I mind leading the singing off stage? Oh and btw would I lead singing at an event at the mall? And since I was a makeup consultant would I mind doing that as well?

I tried to clarify what I was hearing. I wasn't in the ensemble. I would never be on the stage expect for before the show for 15 min of singing (this little mood music is normally done by a CD) and I wasn't actually part of the show. I didn't want to do makeup because I was auditioning for the show to get away from my everyday job--not do it for free. Choking back my tears and humiliation, I said no.

I'm not being proud when I say that with my experiance in the past with theatre I was too good for this--non-role. I heard later that the director offered this role to several other people who were overweight but very talented who too said no to the insulting offer. It became clear that the folks being cast were all skinny or slender or thinner even if they couldn't act of sing well. I would have been fine with this if they had stated at auditions that they were looking for a slender body for the leads and ensemble, I would have just not auditioned. But they didn't. Instead, they cast the thin people and tried to keep the talented but large people with the meager offer of off-stage performance which would have meant to recogition but hours and hours of time and money spent on the show.