Knee pain when running....

Options
I started training with TNT for a half marathon 3 weeks ago. First week was 3 miles and sore the same day afterwards....couldn't walk down stairs....was sore for about 3 days. Week 2 was four miles...got to mile three and locked up. Iced...stretched and took Excedrin...couldn't do stairs....but was good the next day. This past weekend was 5 milkes...got to 2.5 miles and it started again. Pain on the sides, and a sort of locked feeling. Couldn't even finish the run. My shoes are two years old, but I have only run 30 miles max in them before this training started. I bought the roller thing from the running store to stretch my IT band? Nothing seems to work. Does anyone know how to prevent this? My legs want to run, but my knees say no. Not sure how I will do 13 if I can't get past 3....

Replies

• jsiricos
    jsiricos Posts: 338 Member
    Options
    How much are you trying to lose? It might be a good idea to ease off and let your knees recover, the last thing you want OR need is any kind of knee surgery

Go with NSAIDS, Ice, elevation, wrap it, and rest some.

If it doesn't get better, see a Doctor
  • lblert
    lblert Posts: 55
    Options
    I had to change my form to stop knee pain. Heel striking is tough on the knees. I started using a mid/forefoot strike and it made a huge difference.
  • resistance_freak
    Options
    get fitted for new shoes. go to a running store and have them analyze your gait and fit you for a pair of proper running shoes.

This can make a world of difference in your comfort when running.
  • justjenny
    justjenny Posts: 529 Member
    Options
    How much are you trying to lose? It might be a good idea to ease off and let your knees recover, the last thing you want OR need is any kind of knee surgery

Go with NSAIDS, Ice, elevation, wrap it, and rest some.

If it doesn't get better, see a Doctor

I am trying to lose about 15 pounds...not much....I have a doctor appt set for next week...thanks!