Emotional Eating

Options
Does anybody struggle with emotional eating? What are some of your coping mechanisms when you've been strong all day and then something happens that makes you all "these feelings would go great with some pie"?

Replies

• ladynocturne
    ladynocturne Posts: 865 Member
    Options
    I replaced it with exercise. Took awhile, but it works soooo much better than food.
  • SammyDizzle81
    SammyDizzle81 Posts: 159 Member
    Options
    I'm a huge emotional eater and I try to keep busy with my hands---sounds crazy I know.
  • AspiringPinkPinUp
    Options
    Oh boy...I'm a huge emotional eater. I'm no pro at avoiding it ALL the time yet but, right now what's working for me is tossing my sneakers on and heading out the door for a walk with some music in my ear. It's mostly "angry" music to help me clear my head and get all the emotions out while walking. If I'm in a position to do so I will go to the gym and hit the weight room! There are still days that creep in I get so overwhelmed and emotional eating just takes over so fast! Happened to me the other day. I felt sooooo guilty as I swallowed that last bite of donut. After, I found my way to the trail and walked/jogged it out and I felt much better after.

Key for me is to NOT beat myself up if it happens. I'm not perfect and these things will happen. Good luck!
  • 2Become_Fit
    2Become_Fit Posts: 8 Member
    Options
    I replaced it with exercise. Took awhile, but it works soooo much better than food.

I'm the same I have an emergency stash of workout clothes in my car, if I'm having a bad day I don't even go home I go straight to the gym. Even if it's the worst workout ever and I just sit on the bike pedaling watching something on hulu or Netflix on my phone. I usually just need some time being distracted, to calm down.
  • jess6742
    jess6742 Posts: 146
    Options