NEW HERE in all kinds of ways

Options
JackieC22
JackieC22 Posts: 15 Member
Hi guys. I am new to these message boards and I am very new to diet and exercise. Growing up, I was always just regular sized. Never skinny but never very large either. Always 5'3 and in the 135 range-145 range but it was fat, no muscle as I never worked out. ever. I also never watched what I ate. I had my son when I was 22 and after having him and nursing him for over a year, I was at my skinniest. AT one point weighing 122 pounds but that was because of nursing and when I stopped nursing, the weight came back slowly but surely. My husband and I had another baby when I was 25 and now she is 13 months old and I did lose the baby weight fast because of nursing but I'm not comfortable in my body at all now.

I don't know how much I weigh currently and although I do want to lose weight, I mainly want to get fit and toned. Losing weight from burning calories through nursing alone results in flabby and saggy if you catch my drift.. As I mentioned, I am brand new to diet and exercise. What I have been doing is taking walks with the baby in stroller. Now, I've started doing stroller exercises (squats, lunges, and lots more to work out arms, legs and abs) and walking at a faster pace. Is this a good start? How often should I be doing things like this?

And how should I vary it up? I was thinking of walking 5 days a week and maybe 1 or 2 of those days add the exercises? Let me know what you guys think.

I have no time and financial means to join a gym so I can do at home things or walking type things. Please help.

Replies

• Jeepchik3
    Jeepchik3 Posts: 5 Member
    Options
    Sounds like youre doing great! You want to work out about 3 days a week and if you want to walk on in between days, thats great too!! Keep it up!!
  • JoelleAnn78
    JoelleAnn78 Posts: 1,492 Member
    Options