I've been stuck on this plateau for months!!

Options
Hi guys. This is my first post here, though I've been using MFP for almost two years. I find the whole thing a little embarrassing, but I could really use some advice/feedback. I hit a plateau, and hard.

Last year, after some very successful MFP-ing, I weighed 134# at 5'8", 6# from my original goal, but I was being told I was getting too skinny (by people who don't toss that out lightly), so I decided to start working toward building muscle instead. At that time, I was doing the elliptical for 60 minutes/good resistance 5-6 times a week, plus a few weight machines 2-3 times a week, and plenty of walking.

Now, my workout is much more varied: in a week, I bike 5 miles x 5 times, run 3.5 miles x 3 times (I increase this by 5% each week), do the elliptical at least once for old time's sake, take 2-3 weight classes, and some pilates/yoga for good measure. That, plus a harsh winter, monthly drinking parties, and overall less vegetables (~_~), put me at 142#. I've been trying to get it off--no alcohol, more veggies, cutting calories--but I can't seem to do more than fluctuate between 139# and 142#, whether I aim for 250 or 1,000 calorie deficit. (I cook and weigh all my food, so I know I'm being accurate!)

I have a scale that measures BFP, but they are notoriously inaccurate. I also never bothered to measure myself before, so all I have to go on are my measurements from a few months ago. I posted pics so what do you think? Is any of that 8# muscle or is it all vodka and post-drinking croissants that will haunt me forever?

Please help!!!

Pic: http://happytofu.net/images/whyyy.jpg

Replies

• RebekahR84
    RebekahR84 Posts: 794 Member
    Options
    Google "tanita scale" & find a clinic or some sort of business that has one. It's very accurate and will tell you everything you need to know. My money is you're at your ideal weight & it's muscle. And congratulations on your accomplishment!
  • deksgrl