Sugar from fruit. Is it really bad?

Options
2»

Replies

• WendyTerry420
    WendyTerry420 Posts: 13,274 Member
    Options
    Our body's main source of energy is glucose. Eat the fruit.
  • WendyTerry420
    WendyTerry420 Posts: 13,274 Member
    Options
    Fructose (fruit sugars) are very different chemically from glucose (grain sugars) and are processed differently in the body.

Essentially, too much fructose in your diet has the same detrimental bodily effects as too much alcohol--and that makes sense because alcohol is made from fermented sugars (wine, anyone?)

Fresh fruit, as opposed to juice or HFCS, has fiber which helps to negate the bad effects of the fructose.

There is an amazing power in understanding the chemistry of food. I'm no scientist, but I'm self-educating to understand why I should avoid too much juice instead of just accepting it because someone on TV said so.

This video is what piqued my interest in the topic (Sugar: The Bitter Truth): http://youtu.be/dBnniua6-oM

strange+gif_e32caf_4301733.gif
  • mojo501976
    mojo501976 Posts: 62 Member
    Options
    Fruit sugars are not bad for you. But you do have to be careful and to eat protein with your fruit otherwise your body may become susceptible later in life to diabetes. You need to be wary of this as you don't want to unbalance your blood sugars! It is best to train your eating habits early in life!
  • saxmaniac
    saxmaniac Posts: 1,133 Member
    Options
    Fruit sugars are not bad for you.

It's neither bad nor good. It depends on how much you eat, presenting the total glucose load to the body, and depending on how much energy you are expending short-term.
    But you do have to be careful and to eat protein with your fruit otherwise your body may become susceptible later in life to diabetes. You need to be wary of this as you don't want to unbalance your blood sugars!

Sorry, but this is too oversimplified to be of any use. NO.