Do I trust the treadmill or the calculator for cal burned?

Options
I'm new to all of this and I have noticed that there is a huge difference between kCal burned on the treadmill and the number I get when using a calorie calculator. The Treadmill doesn't take my weight into account. When I use the calculator, I use the avg's (mph, incline, ect...) the treadmill gives. For an hour workout there is an almost 600 kCal difference! Which can I trust?

Replies

• xxmarysmxx
    xxmarysmxx Posts: 199 Member
    Options
    Often thought the same thing. My treadmill takes my weight still give me a high kCal burned number. Like today treadmill said 400 and logged in as 332. Yours is give a diff of 600.. That is a lot. Do you use a treadmill at a gym or home? Thinking if it's a gym you could ask them.
  • UhohDanny
    UhohDanny Posts: 32
    Options
    I use a treadmill at the gym.... Today it said i burned 491 kCal, but when i put my weight into the calculator it says I burned 1030 kCal. Really pretty confusing.
  • kaydeedoubleu1
    kaydeedoubleu1 Posts: 567 Member
    Options
    you should be able to enter your weight into the treadmill...will give you a more accurate figure
  • LeakieChan
    LeakieChan Posts: 31 Member
    Options
    I have the same issue with my stationary bike! I can be on it for an hour and it'll say I burnt 200 calories, and then i'd type it into the MFP calculator and it says something like 400! when I log I use the stationary bike's number, because it's lower.
  • UhohDanny
    UhohDanny Posts: 32
    Options
    yea, i have decided to go with the lower of the numbers.... thinking about getting a heart rate monitor though.
  • spangler1972
    spangler1972 Posts: 18 Member
    Options