I have no idea what to do at the gym

Options
95AM97
95AM97 Posts: 16 Member
I'm somewhat new to the gym and need some advice. I go to the gym 3-4 time a week to use the treadmill only. Doing anything else intimidates me but I'm ready to take that next step. I mainly want to workout my butt and legs for now. What's a good program/machine to start with? Today I used the elliptical and moved on to the stair machine thingy. I felt they gave me an ok workout but I didn't break a sweat as much as I would have on the treadmill.

What's your gym routine?

Replies

• Mouse_Potato
    Mouse_Potato Posts: 1,498 Member
    Options
    I just started weight training about two months ago and it's the best decision I ever made. I am following the NROL4W (New Rules of Lifting for Women) program and I love it. My glutes and hamstrings are killing me right now and I couldn't be happier. And my boyfriend is completely head over heels about the changes in my body (after only two months!). :bigsmile:

I usually lift three days a week, M/W/F, if my schedule allows, and I do HIIT on Tuesdays and Thursdays. I just started the HIIT, so I'm still getting the hang of it, but I generally do a treadmill routine with a 2 minute warm-up at 3.5 mph, then sprint for 1 minute, walk at 4.0 for 2, repeat until I've done about 20-30 minutes, depending on my energy level and/or schedule.
  • vienna_h
    vienna_h Posts: 428 Member
    Options
    I think it's worth investing in a couple sessions with a personal trainer. Yes, it might be expensive, but they'll show you how all the machines work and how to use them properly, and what to do to reach your goals.

I get a gym membership included in my tuition in September, which will be my first time in a real gym since I was like 15. I plan on getting a personal trainer for a couple sessions so I know what I'm doing!
  • ShannonMK9
    ShannonMK9 Posts: 65 Member
    Options