How to not lose muscle while dieting?

Options
I've upped my protein intake, which I heard helps maintain your muscle when dieting. What other measures should I be taking to maintain my muscle while I am dieting?

1. I do cardio (arcmaster, bike, elliptical) for 50 minutes a day, 6 days a week
2. I am also doing the 30 day shred in addition to that.
3. I am 5'10" (female), 182 pounds, and I eat 1550 calories a day.

Replies

• BrainyBurro
    BrainyBurro Posts: 6,129 Member
    Options
    I've upped my protein intake, which I heard helps maintain your muscle when dieting. What other measures should I be taking to maintain my muscle while I am dieting?

don't have too large a calorie deficit each day.

lift weights.
  • ekfulton
    ekfulton Posts: 24 Member
    Options
    I'm no expert but bodybuilders that want to lose weight but not muscle generally follow a ketogenic diet. Basically they eat an Atkins type diet Sunday thru Friday afternoon. They then eat carbs Friday nite thru Sat midnight. They also lift 4 days a week.
  • JerseyGirl30
    Options
    should i cut down on the amount of cardio I'm doing a lift weights instead? Say, do cardio three days a week and weights the other three days I go to the gym?
  • delicious_cocktail
    delicious_cocktail Posts: 5,797 Member
    Options
    should i cut down on the amount of cardio I'm doing a lift weights instead? Say, do cardio three days a week and weights the other three days I go to the gym?

Yes. Precisely.

Edited to add: if you can, talk to a personal trainer for instruction on free weights. The weight machines at gyms are designed to focus effort on individual muscles with a very limited range of motion. Free weights recruit much more of your body's accessory muscles to keep you stable and upright, and resistance training in that method will promote higher levels of LBM retention in deficit, in addition to keeping your physique trim and toned-looking.