women and lifting

Options
I have been lifting for about 3 months now i think and I know that I am getting stronger because i have moved up in weights on all the benches and can do things i couldn't do when i first started, but it seems like my arm measurements are not changing can someone tell me why that is. Or give me some advice on what to do about it. I started out just lifting the bar on the bench and now i am up to adding 13.5 pounds on each side in 3 months, I think thats pretty decent but i don't know if i am doing enough to help myself.

Replies

• happywithme12
    happywithme12 Posts: 477 Member
    Options
    b
  • JesterMFP
    JesterMFP Posts: 3,596 Member
    Options
    Are you wanting your arm measurements to increase or decrease? If you're trying to add muscle mass, you need to eat more calories than you burn. If you're trying to lose fat, you need to eat fewer calories than you burn, but you also can't spot reduce fat, so it might come off somewhere else first.

You can gain strength in your muscles without actually gaining mass because of neurological adaptations.
  • MoreBean13
    MoreBean13 Posts: 8,701 Member
    Options
    Are you hoping for your arms to get bigger or smaller? Can you give some input on your diet and overall fitness routine and goals?
  • bumblebums
    bumblebums Posts: 2,181 Member
    Options
    Are you wanting your arm measurements to increase or decrease? If you're trying to add muscle mass, you need to eat more calories than you burn. If you're trying to lose fat, you need to eat fewer calories than you burn, but you also can't spot reduce fat, so it might come off somewhere else first.

You can gain strength in your muscles without actually gaining mass because of neurological adaptations.

It is rare for the second post in a thread to hit pretty much all the right notes with such brevity. Bravo--I have nothing to add.
  • phatguerilla
    phatguerilla Posts: 188 Member
    Options