How to not gain fat?

Options
Hey guys,

So, I have a food problem but I'm working my way to get better. I want to build muscle and I know I need to put on some weight. I've upped my calories a lot (though still not enough) and I workout 4 times a week (3x weight lifting and one kickboxing. I do 10 minutes of interval training before the weightlifting too).

I know I need to gain some weight but I'm still a little hesitant to up my calorie intake at the risk of gaining fat. I have a decent amount of fat (I don't know my bodyfat% but I'd estimate around 20% at a guess) so I don't want anymore!

I've had lots of tips from various sources but I don't know how accurate my tdee is and I just don't want to gain fat then freak out and start restricting again. Any and all advice is appreciated :)

Ps I'm around 7 stone and just short of 5'3 and I'm 22

Replies

• auddii
    auddii Posts: 15,357 Member
    Options
    I have no experience with bulking, but this post seems like it might help:

http://www.bodyrecomposition.com/muscle-gain/muscle-gain-mistakes.html
  • hyenagirl
    hyenagirl Posts: 206 Member
    Options
    Bulking is a long, slow process. Women don't put on muscle like men do. Bulking can take a good 8-9 months. You are correct that you need to eat more. At your current weight, you can't gain muscle on a caloric deficit. You will gain a little fat too if you eat slightly over TDEE, but you already know how to lose the fat if you've lost 26 lbs for when you "cut". Just keep and eye in the mirror. If you put on too much fat, cut back.
  • Sarauk2sf
    Sarauk2sf Posts: 28,072 Member
    Options
    How long have you been lifting for?
  • doggiesnot
    doggiesnot Posts: 334 Member
    Options
    @auddii, thanks for the link!
  • AnsiStar
    AnsiStar Posts: 165 Member
    Options