I'm new and feeling a bit overwhelmed... Help

littleleia89
littleleia89 Posts: 4
edited September 21 in Health and Weight Loss
I'm new to MFP and after my first week I was feeling pretty good. I lost 4 pounds, and then today I step on the scale and I've put on 0.4 pounds, I don't really understand because I was under my target calories. I feel a bit of a failure, a bit rubbish. I'm scared that this is what it'll be like from now on, I'm trying so hard and eating much less and still I'm not losing. Help, has anyone else felt this way?
I know I should weigh myself every day but the scales are right there every morning staring at me!

L
x

Replies

• fromaquasar
    fromaquasar Posts: 811 Member
    Wow you lost 4 pounds in your first week! That is an amazing loss! I don't think you should be at all worried about a .4 gain, that's still a 3.6 pound loss in 2 weeks! Your body will fluctuate as it adjusts and you will go through stages of loosing quickly or slowly or gaining a little. But the trend over all when you stick with it is down down down. It's the times when you feel like you are not succeeding that are the hardest to stay motivated but keep at it and you will see the change!

I weigh myself every day - even though I shouldn't - but I only record my weight once a week - and I don't let myself respond emotionally to my weight until Monday (why I can control my emotions but not my feet from stepping on the scales who knows!!)

x
  • Oh, I didn't know that! Thank you! I'm finding it hard as my family aren't really behind me, there is a lot of competition between my sister and I so when she sees me trying to eat right she buys chocolate and eats chips. I'm trying to resist or work it into my calorie goal but it's difficult. I'm changing my habits but it feels like an uphill battle.
    So I should try and chill out a bit and not worry if I go up a little as long it goes down?
    Thank you for your kind wordsx
    x
  • loopybec2002