Chia seeds?

Options
Hi everyone! I keep seeing people adding chia seeds to their food diaries. I've researched it--I am a librarian after all!--and I understand why people eat them. What I don't get is HOW people eat them. Like, do you just eat them plain, like you would a sunflower seed? Or do you mix them in stuff? What do they taste like? Do you recommend them? Enlighten me, please! :happy:

Replies

• jwdieter
    jwdieter Posts: 2,582 Member
    Options
    If you like research, try "how do people eat chia seeds" in Google. Get a lot of ideas.

I personally add to oatmeal, or let sit in water for a bit and mix with protein powder. Eating dry I find is not particularly enjoyable.
  • bound4beauty
    bound4beauty Posts: 274 Member
    Options
    They are very tiny so I don't think I'd eat them unless they were mixed in with something. I had them this morning in my "overnight oatmeal". You can sprinkle them on anything you want like you would wheat germ.
  • MizzuzR
    MizzuzR Posts: 9
    Options
    I bought the ground seeds so it was like a fine powder then added it to my green smoothie. I had to give it a rest because it was giving me very bad gas.
  • Crochetluvr
    Crochetluvr Posts: 3,143 Member
    Options
    I add it to my soup and yogurt. :)

They have a slightly nutty taste on their own but take on the taste of whatever you put them in.
  • derekj222
    derekj222 Posts: 370 Member
    Options
    Best & easiest!

1/4 cup chia seeds
    1 cup milk (I used regular almond)

Let them soak overnight in bowl together. In morning add berries or whey for extra protein! It's very hard to describe the texture, kind of like a cold soup, but oh so good!
  • LittleCulturedPearl
    LittleCulturedPearl Posts: 71 Member
    Options
    They are very tiny so I don't think I'd eat them unless they were mixed in with something. I had them this morning in my "overnight oatmeal". You can sprinkle them on anything you want like you would wheat germ.