Suggestions for lowering sodium and good low sodium meals

Options
so like most of the world that has eaten packaged stuff up to now... i could do with some help figuring out how to eat more low sodium meals

Replies

• ecka723
    ecka723 Posts: 148 Member
    Options
    Boy am I glad I found this thread. I cook all low-sodium meals because I was diagnosed with high blood pressure. Honestly, it is all about experimentation. You have to read ALL nutrition labels, and know what foods typically are sodium wise. I've been doing this for about two years now (mind you, I don't follow it all the time, but I'm trying to be better!!) and it's taken me about a good year to really get it together with figuring out what I can and cannot have.

That being said, your sodium limit depends on whether the doc has you following a lower limit than the recommended max. For me, I have to limit myself to 1500 mg per day, which is about 2/3 of a teaspoon of salt. The recommended amount for people without high blood pressure or at risk of it (I believe) is 2300 mg, a much more attainable number.

The cruel part is that everything has sodium, including some fruits and vegetables. While their amounts are nominal compared to packaged foods, they still count.

The first thing to do is to start simply using less salt. If you do not want to do that, I use a salt substitute (http://www.alsosalt.com/) called Also Salt, which is the best on the market in my opinion. The problem with faux salt is that it can have a metallic after taste (such as Morton's), but Also Salt doesn't. And, it lasts me a long time. I think in the past couple of years, I've only gone through a few shakers of it. I found mine at my local grocery store, but it was close to where it is manufactured, so you might only be able to order it online. It also works great for baking, too.