What 1 pound per week looks like (with pics-hopefully)

Options
This is my first time posting a success story. I never imagined that I would post my very revealing before pics in a public forum but I wanted this to inspire those who scoff at slow and steady weight loss goals. I started this process just over a year ago and have lost the equivalent of about 1 pound per week. Here's my story:

I was never overweight growing up. I was athletic and active and fit and never concerned about being a skinny girl. I ate pretty healthily and didn't pay much attention to the scale. As a woman who is 6'1", gaining or losing a pound here or there doesn't really show up that easily.

Flash forward to about 10 years ago when I found myself working more and working out less. I continued to eat as I always had when I was more active and since I still went to the gym for 45 minutes of cardio about 2-3 times per week, I didn't notice anything initially. Over the years I did see subtle changes like my clothes getting tighter and that I was wearing a size or two larger than I previously had; but it all happened so gradually that I wasn't really paying attention to the changes. In my mind, I was still the fit, athletic girl I'd always been.

In the mirror and on the scale, was a totally different story. One day I got on the scale at the gym and found that I was 40 pounds heavier than I thought I was! That was my wake up call and the kick in the pants I needed to start paying attention.

So enough with the background, here's the before:

June 2012

wVTBbN9.jpg
SpIWsYW.jpg

And my favorite, the dreaded rear view. Note to self: "Always look BEHIND you!!"
98aFhYJ.jpg

Flash forward 1 year to the after/during:

June 2013
JswWbJd.jpg
uGYB0vr.jpg
jS9csvd.jpg

I'm still a work in progress, though my focus now is on building more strength and decreasing body fat rather than focusing on the number on the scale.

So what did I do? What was the "magic" or "secret" to losing 50 pounds?