Starting over after surgery

Options
Hello Everyone!
I'm somewhat new to fitness pal. I'm 36 and have tried losing weight and getting in shape for a while. I started at the gym in February, but then had major abdominal surgery on June 27th and couldn't workout for over a month. I'm having trouble getting motivated again. my abdomen muscles are still sore and I seem hungry all the time. I've gained most of my weight back. =( Any thoughts would be appreciated. Friendship is even better! Thanks!

Replies

• Darrelkun
    Darrelkun Posts: 152 Member
    Options
    Hey! This is a good topic for me as I'm having surgery September 26th and will be out for awhile myself. Any tips for gentle exercises that will not upset stitches/disturbed muscles would be greatly appreciated! Stretches, meals, anything would make me happy. <3

Anmhep, how long did the surgeon say you would be out of exercise commission? Did they say? Have they offered you any therapeutic resources? And I'm sorry your motivation is gone! :( That's a struggle to work with. I think it would be okay for you to eat frequently, but maybe switch snacks to cucumbers, carrots, or some leafy greens. Even some fruit for some of the snacks would be a great replacement (and blueberries are packed with antioxidants, which are super great for the body!).

I wish you luck! And I will send a friend request your way. ^^
  • elainemorris1982
    elainemorris1982 Posts: 104 Member
    Options