Need someone's best advice about this please!!!!

Options
This isnt for me. My awesome father apparently has high blood pressure and high cholesterol. He doesnt have a doctor but found all this out by luck one day after making a trip to the clinic to get his "gout" checked out!

He's 54, not overweight, used to smoke- recently quit, hes a mechanic- so not very active, he used to eat about twice a day, and would snack sometimes on chips etc.. I dont know exactly what he used to eat but I know that it was not as healthy as I am eating, but I also know it wasnt completely terrible either.

Because I have turned my diet and lifestyle around these past 6 months, I know the importance of a healthy diet and when I heard the news I immediately shared my knowledge with him and gave him guidelines to follow because I worry too much and care about his health..as far as I knew before- he was pretty healthy! I guess I was wrong

I know a certain amount about food but I am no expert! With my help he is eating healthier but I calculated that he is only getting about 1300 calories!

He is eating lots of veggies, 2 servings of fruit, handful of nuts, salmon, his lean proteins, and a good amount of fibre a day. Basically just trying to be on a healthier diet specific to his conditions. No take out, trans fats, reduced sugar and carb intake etc...

My problem is..I cant seem to think of something to fill in those extra calories that he hypothetically needs to be "healthy" .. I know that what he is eating is healthy and a big improvement, but technically he needs to be eating more correct?

I cant think of any foods that wont raise his grams of sugar, or carbohydrates during the day..because when it comes down to it there are sugar and carbs in almost everything! I really need some guidance please!!!! :/

I was thinking a cup of yogurt a day but that brings his carbs up to 146 grams and his sugar up by 7 grams!