Basically all I do with my friends is eat

Options
amusecruise
amusecruise Posts: 15
edited November 2023 in Getting Started
Hello,

I'm a student, so I spend a lot of time cooped up reading and writing. When I hangout with my friends, I'm either grabbing a beer (high calorie) or doing something food related. My friends and I like to get together and have potlucks, cook together, or go out for a meal.

Does anyone have suggestions as to how to go to these events and 1)not be tempted by all the food and 2)not seem to be dieting? I love cooking with friends, but sweet potato gnocci in a butter, maple, sage sauce isn't exactly low calorie.

Replies

• thepetiterunner
    thepetiterunner Posts: 1,238 Member
    Options
    Wow, well you and your friends sound like legit foodies. Color me jealous!

Well, you may be tempted, just because you're used to having that kind of food. For potlucks you can bring "healthier" or more lower calorie items to share. Are you concerned with the idea of "dieting" for some reason? Would your friends not be supportive if you just made a choice to try to be a bit healthier (versus being on a "diet")? Would they have any interest in doing non-food related activities as a means to hang out?

You could also try eating before you go, so you're not so tempted. Or just plan on having a cheat meal, keep it reigned in, and then go workout extra to burn off the extra calories you've consumed. There are a lot of work arounds for this :) Good on you for trying to have a strategy!
  • StephanieMM2013
    Options
    I have a similar problem! I live in a big college party town, all there really is to do is eat and drink. I struggled with it for a long time, it's not easy. Here are the main things that helped me:

Cook at home. It sucks, but its been a MUST for me. Even if its just fish and a veggie, or a veggie omelette... Quick, easy, simple. There's no way to know for sure what's in your food unless you're making it yourself.