When would you start your first bulk?

Options
Hi there,

I'll start off with some stats first in case they help.

SW: 186
CW: Around 155
Male

Been dieting since December 2012, lifting weights since April 2013, but really I've just been on one long cut. I've made strength gains but naturally, haven't really made any gains in size. I'm aiming to only bulk up a bit, not to huge bodybuilder size, but maybe an extra stone in muscle?

I'm just getting to the point now where you can see the outline of abs, and I'm considering starting on a bulk, but would it be more beneficial if I started it at a lighter weight?

Complete newbie to bulks/cuts, so need all the help I can get!

Also, any bulk I do would not be with a huge surplus, I'm talking perhaps 2-300 calories over TDEE every day, if that sounds good?

Also, any lifting programmes you guys use would be good, absolutely no idea what I'm doing!

Thanks in advance,

J

Replies

• jollyjoe321
    jollyjoe321 Posts: 529 Member
    Options
    5"9
    I'm about 20% judging by this: http://www.builtlean.com/2012/09/24/body-fat-percentage-men-women/
    At work unfortunately so cannot sort out any pictures! :)
    I want to be around the 15% bf mark, and don't particularly want to follow a huge bulk/cut cycle
    I currently do my own thing, usually: Chest Press, Shoulder Press, Pullups (Triceps), Chinups (Biceps), Pectoral Flies, Crunches, Arm Extensions, Bicep Curls, Leg Press
  • jacksonpt
    jacksonpt Posts: 10,413 Member
    Options
    The "benefit" will be the same regardless - added muscle mass.

IMO, then "when should I start" question is all about personal preference. Some time it around the holidays when they know they are going to be eating more (rather than trying to cut when all that food is around). Some start and stop based on body fat % or scale weight. Personally, I bulk when I can afford to look and feel a little more sloppy, which is generally mid-late winter for me.
  • jollyjoe321
    Options