Weird looks at the grocery store

Options
So I went to the store today and I’ve been trying to be extra careful about what I eat but my diet hasn’t changed much. I try to eat organic as much as I can but alas I am a poor college student and it just doesn’t work that way some days. As I was going through the isles in a college town I kept getting really weird looks from people about my cart. Since I am trying to eat healthy there was nothing boxed in the cart, everything was fruits, veggies or meat. I think people are judging me about what I have in my cart because I am over weight. Is this really the norm that we expect all people who are over weight to eat terrible things? I know that I’m trying to lose weight and I’ve struggled with my weight but I’ve never been a pop drinker or a chip eater. The only things that I can truly say, that I ate on a regular basis, that were bad for me as I gained weight were ice cream and pizza. I want everyone out there to know that just because I am over weight doesn’t mean I eat unhealthy and it doesn’t mean that I gained that weight by eating unhealthy either, I gained weight because I ate too much, not because I wasn’t eating the right things.

I feel accomplished that everything in my cart today was organic or fresh but I wish that we didn’t have these types of stereotypes.

Replies

• cindyss
    cindyss Posts: 10 Member
    Options
    Don't let what anyone else does get you down, when you are shopping buy what you want and need, if they get close enough to you and are looking funny just ask then if they have an suggestions on how to prepare something in your basket....I find most people aren't really paying attention to anyone else anyway, so just keep doing what you need to do.
  • takethepieces
    Options
    I know what you mean, but in a different way.