To nap or not to nap... That's the question!

Options
So I heard that napping can hinder weight loss... Anyone every heard of that.... Any truth to it?

I took a 15 minute nap this afternoon and felt AWESOME! Just wondering if I can work that in a few times a week without consequences. Thanks for any feedback. :bigsmile:

Replies

• elmct57
    elmct57 Posts: 594 Member
    Options
    actually if you don't get adequate rest/sllep while dieting it can hinder your weight loss. If it made you feel better--i'd say you answered your own question right there! Good luck!
  • missyhse
    missyhse Posts: 189
    Options
    I'm not an expert, but I am an athlete and I've been told to take 15 minute naps on hard work out days to aid in muscle recovery so you're body is not conserving calories to heal. I second elmct57 too, sleep deprivation is bad!
  • chanstriste13
    chanstriste13 Posts: 3,277 Member
    Options
    nap! i love me some naptime!
  • lordofultima
    Options
    Sleeping puts you in a catabolic state, so I wouldn't recommend doing it more than once a day. It'll mess with meal timings, slow down your metabolism...shouldn't you be getting enough sleep at one time? I can see if you can only sleep for 4 hours or something at a time but, if you already get a 7-9 hour sleep I don't think napping half way through the day is going to help.
  • gambitsgurl
    gambitsgurl Posts: 632 Member
    Options
    DUDE - oh yeah... NAP!!!!! :D
  • robbienjill
    robbienjill Posts: 456 Member
    Options
    I have always been taught that your body actually grows and repairs itself during sleep (rest). I would say get the nap!:yawn:
  • PatriciaO
    Options
    I love a fifteen minute nap. It makes me feel great.
  • MzBug
    MzBug Posts: 2,173 Member
    Options