Saving up calories for weekends/life happening?

Options
I've read a lot of people on here say that they go under their calorie goal during the week to make sure that their weekly deficit isn't impeded by any weekend overeating. I sympathize with that a lot - as a college student, my life is highly scheduled during the week and I'm able to preplan every day by the night before generally. I do my best on the weekends, but if my parents are coming for dinner or I'm going to dinner with my friends or I'm going to be drinking, I generally go over even with exercise. Last week when I tried managing by weekly calories, I was over only by around 175 for the week. The two previous weeks, I was over by at least 1,000 calories which is almost all of my deficit. My birthday was in that period, so it's not like I go crazy every weekend, but I was still surprised to see that.

So my question is, is it a problem to be sub-1200 (or around there) for a few days during the week and use that to make up during the weekend or other times when fun food things happen? It's definitely tricky and takes a lot of planning, and I'm really only trying to lose that last 5 buffer lbs before I switch to maintenance. My goal now is 1400 a day, and I'd like to keep it between 1100-1300 net for at least 3 days during the week so that I have some room to not freak out when I'd like to enjoy food with others. Right now I'm at 1100 (net, 1450 gross) and drinking some tea to curb the cravings I'm having as I'm procrastinating on some homework before bed. Is this reasonable?

Replies

• SingingPilgrim
    SingingPilgrim Posts: 45 Member
    Options
    It probably depends on how often it happens. My current goal is 1310, and so I just have to be 111 calories under to be under 1200-- so I don't worry about it.