Need soup recipes!

Options
zsgirl1218
zsgirl1218 Posts: 85 Member
Ok I'm on a budget and I kno that making soup for my family will feed us for at least two meals. Any ideas of what to make? I'm a pro at chicken noodle soup! But it's getting boring.

Replies

• mmstone13
    mmstone13 Posts: 60 Member
    Options
    Butternut squash soup is cheap, easy, and healthy....especially considering the low price of squash right now. Google recipes, there are tons out there. I always swap the cream or cream cheese with some skim milk and laughing cow cheese....
  • zsgirl1218
    Options
    I wonder if I can hide the fact that it's squash... My family's so picky. I'm the only adventurous eater lol
  • mmstone13
    mmstone13 Posts: 60 Member
    Options
    It really doesn't taste like squash...it is a sweeter soup, despite being packed full of vegetables! This is the recipe I used from all recipes with modifications: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/butternut-squash-soup/

I also sauteed carrots and celery. and I added some mushroom and pepper. Its a really adaptable recipe for whatever veggies you have in your fridge. again, i don't use cream or cream cheese...just substitute for skim milk and/or laughing cow cheese. I imagine you could use yogurt as well.

It is a very thick creamy soup. If you like "stuff" in your soup, just reserve some of the sauteed veggies rather than blending them all.
  • Buckeyegirlbritt
    Options
    Butternut squash. It's easy.
  • trina_dawn85
    Options
    http://www.skinnytaste.com/2011/12/stuffed-pepper-soup.html stuffed red pepper soup its so good. i love this website also for recipes that are healthy and my family enjoys them all.
  • trina_dawn85
    Options
    this is my fav butter nut squash soup recipe. even my 5 year old daughter likes it. give it a try your family just might like it :)

http://www.skinnytaste.com/2008/10/butternut-squash-soup-with-sage-1-ww-pt.html