To the people who lift - any tips for a beginner?

Options
Hey everyone!

After perusing the threads of MFP I was thinking incorporating strength training more heavily into my workouts, however I don't really know how or where to start having been a cardio addict most of my workout life. Through Insanity I've managed to lose weight and inches and am only one inch away from my waist goal and thought it's about time to ditch the cardio and start lifting to burn the fat off my tummy and waist.

I've heard things about not isolating muscles etc. but does anyone know where I can find a good programme or find a resource that lists guidelines on how to go about setting up a strength training workout... Never done sets/reps etc. before and my only experience in something similar was the one off body pump class haha.

Thanks!

Replies

• salsacatblue
    Options
    This seems really popular.

http://www.amazon.com/The-New-Rules-Lifting-Women/dp/1583333398

I am pretty new to lifting as well. I have been using a proglam from another book called "womens health big book of excercises" for this month but thinking that I want to step it up with former book. Though it is intimidating to go into a weights area of gym at first..
    I have never set my foot in that area before, it was always cardio that I did.
  • ChrisLindsay9
    ChrisLindsay9 Posts: 837 Member
    Options
    It's great to hear. It sounds like with the dedication you've shown thus far, you will find success in incorporating weight training to your fitness lifestyle. If you have access to a gym, consider a personal trainer to help show you some of the basic lifts with free weights (squat, deadlift, bench press, overhead press). If that's not an option, then there are some good online resources as well.